Baseball Hall of Fame panel sends Fred McGriff to Cooperstown

The long wait for Baseball Hall of Fame recognition is finally over for Fred McGriff.

McGriff was unanimously elected to baseball’s Hall of Fame through a vote by the Hall’s “Contemporary Era” committee, earning all 16 votes as others who dropped off the writers’ ballot saw their support shrivel.

Yankees great Don Mattingly received eight votes and pitcher Curt Schilling seven, falling well short of the 12 needed for election. Two-time Atlanta Braves MVP Dale Murphy earned six votes. 

But slugger Barry Bonds — a seven-time MVP — and pitcher Roger Clemens — a seven-time Cy Young Award winner — failed to garner at least four votes. That less than 25% support is a significant dropoff from the 66% and 65% of votes Bonds and Clemens received, respectively, from the Baseball Writers’ Assn. of America in their final year on that ballot.

Source link